EclipseOfTheMoon

From the Pocket of a Dream

*A Disturbing Whisper*

Sometimes
I find myself
in an odd world.

Not aware
of what’s outside
I just continue the walk
through the hollow corridors
of that selfmade vision.

Those walls of glass
are the refuge of mine,
offering a shelter
against the distress,
against the sorrow.
The sorrow
in love with my wounded soul,
kissing it too often.

The walls of glass.
My refuge against pain.
Against myself.

The routine of my days
surely keeps swirling out there
at the other side.
I’m not touched.
I’m in here
pretending not to hear.
Not even when it gently whispers,
telling the strange stories
about the awakening,
speaking against the ignorance
against the sweet opium of this negligence.

They disturb me. Those stories.
Here,
inside my imaginary fort,
there’s a place.
For me.
To linger.

***

For Be Mused

© Eclipse 2008 – 2011

29 comments on “*A Disturbing Whisper*

  1. William
    May 28, 2011

    Very nice.

  2. Tara R.
    May 28, 2011

    I can see this, finding a refuge from the real world in a hidden place all your own. I think people who have been in an abusive situation do this to protect themselves.

  3. Harnett-Hargrove
    May 27, 2011

    ‘Inside’ and ‘outside’ are so often just scrims we weave to delineate something that is not actually there. Nicely played. -J

  4. brian
    May 26, 2011

    nice play on the prompt at 10DOM…lies we hide behind are often made of glass…i like the flow and story telling…nicely played…

  5. Jelly
    May 25, 2011

    Refuge as prison. Interesting. I agree.

  6. ALIVE aLwaYs
    May 25, 2011

    It is decidedly not advisable to remain in that fortress for long, its the insiders who are more dangerous than the external world. Lovely description of our attribution of enigma of life.

  7. Hvninhell
    May 25, 2011

    Hiding from yourself is easily done with white lies blinding others including yourself from the dark truth. Nice flow.

  8. Baino
    May 24, 2011

    A dark truth exposed perhaps but I too have difficulty identifying the white lie but welcome to 10thDom, it’s only the beginning right?

  9. tom
    May 23, 2011

    yeah, nice flow and reading between the lines, as one is asked to do in poetry, i catch a glimpse of the muse. Happy to see a new face, Eclipse

  10. she writes
    May 23, 2011

    Very interesting take on the Muse.

  11. Sam
    May 21, 2011

    Oh…the lingering…One of the most powerful words.

  12. Broken Sparkles
    May 20, 2011

    I like the start about the odd world. anyone can relate to the emotion of being trapped in unknown place, but sometimes that’s the beauty of life, finding step after step the place where you will linger and feel good. I like your poems, always a nice message coming out!

  13. rosemarymonteith
    May 20, 2011

    Plumbs strange hidden places

  14. JeffScape
    May 18, 2011

    Interesting submission. I like the flow, but have some problems identifying the Muse in it.

    Welcome to 10thDoM!

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 20, 2011

      The muse of white lies….well I’ve tried to express the truth about white lies regarding my abscence when I’m physically there…but actually somewhere else…
      It sounds complicated now :)…and I haven’t succeeded, as I can see. Hope I’ll have more chances 🙂
      Many thanks for the welcome and reading Jeff.

  15. Kavita
    May 17, 2011

    I think one really needs to have some such refuge… and if that refuge happens to be one’s own soul, well, there is nothing quite like it! When the rest of reality bothers us, our very own soul has the best advice to offer, and the best company to spare!

    Very well expressed here, Eclipse.. honest and beautiful!

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 17, 2011

      The best or not, there’s an adwice within the own soul as you said…taking a very serious conversation with ouselves in there we usually get out pretty soon… 🙂
      Thanks dear Kavita, you are so kind

  16. Andy
    May 17, 2011

    Because of the trials and tribulations of this life, I think we do indeed escape to such a place where we feel safe, where we can protect our feelings, our minds and our hearts.

    Lingering is ok, it’s when we completely retreat that it becomes a concern to those on the “outside”.

    This is a beautiful, haunting piece.

    Well penned Eclipse.

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 17, 2011

      To protect our minds and our hearts, so lovely said, you pretty much understood what I meant here…and yes, only lingering for that matter, otherwise it would be the verge of insanity…
      Thank you very much for reading Andy

  17. Sue Dreamwalker
    May 17, 2011

    I think Eclipse that is why I take myself off to my Room and Drum… I can transport myself off to that other world where reality and dreams become blurred.. For to see this world as it is, is to see the torment, the sorrow, the pain we inflict upon each other..
    Thats Why we write As we do, for we escape this world behind ” the walls of Glass”…. escaping for a short while.. For we also know at some point, those walls of glass will splinter, sending shards of yet more pain for we see too much sometimes Eclipse within our Secret Rooms of Thought and words..
    Loved this piece so very much my dear friend.. for it spoke deeply to me..

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 17, 2011

      I agree with your words, it really happens that we see much more of pain in that Secret Room, as you named it. And writing helps to get rid of it many times. Thank you for comming over dear Dreamwalker

  18. Olive Tree
    May 16, 2011

    I’ve been to that place too. It is a safe place and a much needed shelter when it gets to be too much. Just don’t stay there too long, though. I agree with PattiKen, it can be a dangerous place if you stay too long. Also, make sure someone close to you knows that you’re in there, so that person(s) can probably knock on the door once in a while to check on you. It’s always important and nice to have someone who cares. A simple knock on the door can be such a comfort to hear sometimes….just sometimes, not all the times. Be well.

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 17, 2011

      Thanks dear Olive, he cares and is always here to knock on my glassy walls, making sure I’m not staying in there for too long 🙂

  19. cat
    May 16, 2011

    … yes, there is a place or two like that … these places of refuge … I’m looking through your glass walls and into your heart. Greetings, my friend. Always, cat

  20. Raven
    May 16, 2011

    I find myself there sometimes far too often. Closing myself off to the outside world a disturbing place indeed.

    Good thing I got hungry and found my way out LOL

    Warm feathery hugs, Rx

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 17, 2011

      I’m glad you noticed that it’s about “sometimes” Raven…the important thing is to not get stuck in there… 🙂 Thanks dear friend for reading and the encouraging comment.

  21. PattiKen
    May 16, 2011

    This is haunting. It describes a refuge that many people have built for themselves. The idea frightens me a bit. For me, such a place would teeter on the edge of sanity, I think.

    • eclipseofthemoon
      May 17, 2011

      I think it would be more heavy not being able to build a place there we can feel safe for a while….but you are right, it could be a frightening idea… a bit dangerous to stay there too long. 🙂 Thank you for your visit Patti

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2011 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , .
