EclipseOfTheMoon

From the Pocket of a Dream

*incubus*

somewhere
          within ruins
                         they still lie
withered roses
in the dust of memories

all dried
        yellowed
                   as a piece of an old parchment
wrinkled of the time that had crushed them
with its stones
                    of pain

all dead
yet
still scourging
            loading guilt
                   upon the shoulders of night

a need to rest
        to flee from the darkened corridor
                                                            of mind
from an incubus
                    in a threat of smashing
                                            one fragile
                                                      precious
bowl of happiness

***

© Eclipse 2011

12 comments on “*incubus*

  1. Charles
    October 15, 2011

    Hi Jennygoth! small world.

    I was just passing through, kicking links from that Undead Poet Society which appears to be more dead than alive and stumbled on your Incubus poem. Nice work, I think it’s better than mine. Certainly an easier read; mine is more of a ballad.

    You have a nice blog here.

  2. jennygoth
    September 12, 2011

    yes incubus the evil one sneaks in and leaves misty footprints in our thoughts great poetry eclipse xxjen

  3. Raven
    September 6, 2011

    I am taken by the roses in parchment and the crushing like stones …
    The disturbing stress of an incubus…it leads my imagination to dark places.
    Another great poem my friend.
    Raven xox

  4. Dave
    September 3, 2011

    ‘in the dust of memories’ I really like this line.
    Another great poem and I really love your whole site. So well done.
    Thank you so much.

  5. Cat.
    September 3, 2011

    Yes, it’s always there … always … the phenomenae of incubus and/ or succubus. What a magical and unsettling thought for any human being, and the never ending source for poetry … like yours, my lovely friend eclipse. Blessed be, cat.

  6. Sue Dreamwalker
    September 2, 2011

    Roses are the flower we so often use in love and in sadness in remembrance and celebration .. .. Beautiful poem Eclipse.. Did you know that roses too when dried can act to dispel negativity? So all the roses I have had given I save and dry and use as potpourri… that way as I mingle them within the crystal bowl, I remember all the happy times when I was given them.. For their parchment petals hold still the scent of their gift… Dreamwalker xox
    Much love for a Happy Weekend.. x

  7. Broken Sparkles
    August 31, 2011

    A bowl of happiness, I wish we keep in store one for each soul on Earth …

  8. Daydreamertoo
    August 30, 2011

    An incubus…. not a very nice thing to have happen in your dreams or, in your mind at all.
    I hope this incubus doesn’t smash anyone’s happiness.
    Lovely, dark, thoughts though.

  9. Androgoth
    August 30, 2011

    A very nice addition to your poetry
    Eclipse, my great friend 🙂

    Be very well, and enjoy your Tuesday

    Androgoth XXx

  10. ladynimue
    August 29, 2011

    This one makes me think something on same lines or maybe different ,, but yes . withered rose do inspire a lot of imagery ..

  11. douginator
    August 29, 2011

    I really liked this one since I am going through things. Though a little hard for me to read with the type of format you chose. Still, another exceptional piece of dark poetry.

    • douginator
      August 29, 2011

      Of course, I am in a spiritual battle with a Succubus…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2011 by in Poetry.
