EclipseOfTheMoon

From the Pocket of a Dream

Within A Black Heart

“Who shall measure the heat and violence of the poet’s heart
when caught and tangled in a woman’s body…”

Virginia Woolf (1882 -1941)
© Eclipse 2012

***

Plagued by mood swings, depressions and several nervous breakdowns Virginia finally drowned herself into the river Ouse near her home, by putting rocks in her coat pockets.

An excerpt from the last note she left to her husband Leonard:

Dearest, I feel certain I am going mad again….And I shan’t recover this time…..I am doing what seems the best thing to do….I can’t fight any longer….Everything has gone from me but the certainty of your goodness. I can’t go on spoiling your life any longer….I don’t think two people could have been happier than we have been.
V.

Virginia Woolf was buried by her husband under an elm in their garden….

5 comments on “Within A Black Heart

  1. Sue Dreamwalker
    November 25, 2012

    Wonderful portrait drawing Eclipse…

  2. Eddie Two Hawks
    November 13, 2012

    I did not know the details of her death or life for that matter only that her poetry was outstanding.

  3. Daniela
    November 13, 2012

    Her burden was heavy, as heavy as her genius. On the end it is just peace we seek wherever it could be found … sometimes it is at the bottom of a river.
    Thank you for remembering her,
    Daniela

  4. viveka
    November 12, 2012

    No very little about Virgina Wolf – all I can say is poor woman – poor human being. Feel so sorry for her, just like I do for our Victoria Benedictsson. What a waste of fantastic women.

Leave a Reply

