EclipseOfTheMoon

From the Pocket of a Dream

From My Home Country

…presenting one of the leading Croatian novelists and poets

FOTO KRLEZA

Poem

Last night, when the Invisible Someone from a bright celestial pitcher
poured the blue moonlight onto the starry fabric,
at the cemetery
I sang about Happiness.
And crosses in despair stretched out their arms.
Dark, mute marble crosses
streching out the arms to Happiness…
It was solemnly quiet.
Long rows of trees and sphinxes of bronze,
all was quiet, dead.
Only my words
like big women in white
sang at the cemetery.
Down in the valley they had turned off the lights
while the blue moonlight flowed across the starry fabric..

***

by Miroslav Krleza (1893-1981)

To read the poem in the original language please click on the link below:

 

PJESMA

 

 

12 comments on “From My Home Country

  1. William Charlebois
    December 13, 2012

    Moonlight and cemeteries always summon up the wonderful quiet of eternal peace.

    • Eclipse
      December 13, 2012

      So beutifully put! Thank you Bill!

  2. cat
    December 13, 2012

    Beautiful … wish I could hear him say those words …

    • Eclipse
      December 13, 2012

      I’m pleased that you liked this Cat! Thank you for reading

  3. Sue Dreamwalker
    December 12, 2012

    “Only my words like big women in white sang at the cemetery.” ….
    This conjures up its own scene Eclipse ….
    Wishing you a wonderful evening where you are… Thank you for sharing I hadnt heard of this poet… Blessings Sue

    • Eclipse
      December 13, 2012

      He was well known for his odd descriptions, almost at the edge of ugliness, yet so eloquent at the same time…I couldn´t find any translation of the poem, so I tried to do my best 🙂 Glad you liked it

  4. viveka
    December 12, 2012

    Very touching – as you know I’m poem person –but I love that you have introduced an author from your home country and your roots.

    • Eclipse
      December 13, 2012

      Thanks Viveka, I have done some cleaning around here at my cyber-livingroom 🙂 some changes which will include more posts about poets that inspired me when was very young… I´ll try to translate some of their work from time to time…. Many thanks that you found this interesting!

      • viveka
        December 13, 2012

        I think it’s great that you are sharing your heritage with us. My father is from Poland, have no member what so ever of him – been to Poland, but I don’t feel any bound what so ever. Have worked with Polish people and they are so hard working. Fantastic people.
        But I push .. Sweden, because I have a very blue and yellow heart.

      • Eclipse
        December 13, 2012

        🙂 Well, I do understand, although I would think that it’s a kind of sad not knowing so much of the own roots. I have lived in Sweden for 22 years now and I think I wouldn’t like to leave it so easy. I love the temperament of the people here, the calmness and order… Things I found really easy and comfortable to get used to. -Yet- my own temperament is not totaly in harmony with that I just said … You should ask my husband 🙂 … But I am working on it….

  5. Martin
    December 12, 2012

    Indeed, there are invisible things one can only perceive in a starry night at a cemetery. Thank you for introducing this wonderful poet : )

    • Eclipse
      December 13, 2012

      Thank you for reading Martin!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2012 by in Featuring poet and tagged , , .
